Your NDIS questions, answered


What is the NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is an Australian government initiative aimed at providing support and services to people with disabilities. It operates on a national level and is designed to give individuals more choice and control over the support they receive. The NDIS provides funding for a range of services and supports, including healthcare, education, employment assistance, and community participation. Its goal is to improve the lives of people with disabilities by enabling them to access the necessary support to participate fully in society.


Who is eligible for NDIS funding?

  1. Age: Participants must be under 65 years of age at the time of their initial access request.
  2. Residency: They must be an Australian citizen, a permanent resident, or a New Zealand citizen who holds a Protected Special Category Visa and meets specific residency criteria.
  3. Disability: The person must have a permanent disability that significantly impacts their ability to participate effectively in everyday activities. This disability should be likely to be lifelong and require support from the NDIS.
  4. Functional impact: The disability must cause substantial impairment in functional capacity or psychosocial functioning. This means that it affects their ability to perform tasks or engage in activities without assistance or support from others.

It’s essential for individuals seeking NDIS funding to undergo an assessment process to determine their eligibility. This process evaluates the person’s disability, support needs, and how these needs impact their daily life. Once deemed eligible, participants can work with the NDIS to develop a personalized plan outlining the supports and services they require to achieve their goals and enhance their quality of life.


How do I apply for the NDIS?

  1. Check Eligibility: Before applying, ensure that you or the person you’re applying for meets the eligibility criteria mentioned earlier, including age, residency, and disability requirements.
  2. Gather Information: Collect relevant information about the disability, functional impacts, and support needs. This may include medical reports, assessments, and documentation from healthcare providers or specialists.
  3. Access Request: Complete an Access Request Form, which can be obtained from the NDIS website or by contacting the NDIS directly. This form provides essential information about the applicant and their disability, and it serves as the initial step in the application process.
  4. Submit Documentation: Attach any supporting documentation, such as medical reports or assessments, to the Access Request Form. These documents help assessors understand the nature and extent of the disability and its impact on daily life.
  5. Submit the Application: Send the completed Access Request Form and supporting documents to the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA), either online through the NDIS website, by mail, or in person at an NDIS office.
  6. Assessment Process: The NDIA will review the application and supporting documentation to determine eligibility for the NDIS. If additional information is required, they may contact the applicant or their healthcare providers.
  7. Plan Development: If deemed eligible, the applicant will work with a planner or Local Area Coordinator (LAC) to develop a personalized NDIS plan. This plan outlines the supports and services needed to achieve the applicant’s goals and enhance their quality of life.
  8. Plan Implementation: Once the NDIS plan is approved, the participant can begin accessing funded supports and services as outlined in the plan. This may include therapies, equipment, personal care assistance, and other types of support.

Contact Us for Exceptional Care Services

Scroll to Top